What were the OG 13 states?

The United States of America initially consisted of 13 states that had been British colonies until their independence was declared in 1776 and verified by the Treaty of Paris in 1783: New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware,

Can you name the original 13 states?

The original 13 colonies were Delaware, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts Bay Colony (which included Maine), New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut, Maryland, South Carolina, New Hampshire, Virginia, New York, North Carolina, and Rhode Island and Providence Plantations.

What were the 13 states in 1789?

The Constitution became law on June 21, 1788, when two-thirds of the states ratified it. The 13 colonies later became the states of Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, New Jersey, Virginia, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and South Carolina.

What are the 13 colonies and when were they established?

What was US called before 1776?

The United Colonies
9, 1776. On Sept. 9, 1776, the Continental Congress formally changed the name of their new nation to the “United States of…

What was the 14th state?

During the American Revolution, Vermont declared independence separately from the original 13 colonies, although the Continental Congress refused to recognize it. Vermont was finally admitted to the union as the 14th state in 1790, after 14 years as an independentrepublic.

What were many of the original 13 colonies named after?

Interesting Facts about the Thirteen Colonies

Many of the colonies were named after the rulers of England including the Carolinas (for King Charles I), Virginia (for the Virgin Queen Elizabeth), and Georgia (for King George II).

How do you remember the 13 colonies in order?

Who founded the original 13 colonies?

The Original Thirteen Colonies
Virginia1607London Company
New Hampshire1623John Wheelwright
Maryland1634Lord Baltimore

What was Massachusetts religion?

Massachusetts Bay Colony
The Colony of Massachusetts Bay Massachusetts Bay Colony
Common languagesEnglish, Massachusett, Mi’kmaq
GovernmentSelf-governing colony

What states are named after British royals?

Which U.S. States Are Named After Royalty?
  • The ‘Carolinas’ Have British Royalty Roots.
  • ‘Georgia’ Was Inspired by a British King.
  • ‘Maryland’ Was Named After a British Queen.
  • The ‘Virginias’ Were Named for a Virgin Queen.

How long did Britain rule America?

British America comprised the colonial territories of the British Empire in the Americas from 1607 to 1783.

How did the US get the 13 colonies?

The Treaty of Paris ending the American Revolution and granting the 13 original colonies independence was signed on September 3, 1783.

What states were almost named?

States That Were Almost Named Something Else
  • Nevada. Credit: 4kodiak/ iStock. …
  • Utah. Credit: DenisTangneyJr/ iStock. …
  • Kentucky. Credit: Sean Pavone/ iStock/ Getty Images Plus. …
  • Oklahoma. Credit: John Elk/ The Image Bank via Getty Images. …
  • West Virginia. Credit: Ali Majdfar/ Moment via Getty Images. …
  • Wyoming. …
  • Colorado.

What state was named after an English duke?

New York
New York was named after the 17th century Duke of York.

The Duke of York was the brother of England’s King Charles II. The region was originally called New Amsterdam when the Dutch had control of the territory before England claimed the land.

How is Carolina named after King Charles?

North and South Carolina: King Charles II of England, who granted a charter to start a colony in modern-day North Carolina, named the land in honor of his father, Charles I. … The name is made up of “Penn” and “sylva”, meaning “woods”, to get “Penn’s Woodland.”

Are there any US states that don’t exist anymore?

From Jefferson to Texlahoma, we’ve rounded up seven unique almost-states and given them the special postcard treatment.
  • Absaroka. …
  • Jefferson. …
  • South California. …
  • Deseret. …
  • South Florida. …
  • Texlahoma. …
  • Franklin.

Which US states are missing from the map?

[A map of the United States, missing Delaware, Kansas, New Mexico, Nebraska, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, and South Dakota, along with Alaska and Hawaii.] Tired of being left off maps of the US, Alaska and Hawaii begin producing maps with other states missing, too.